Championship TV listings

Football on TV today tuesday, 17/05/2022
  • Championship Play-Off Semi-Final
Nottingham Forest Nottingham Forest Sheffield United Sheffield United
  • Sky Sports Ultra HD
  • Sky Sports Football
Sunday, 29/05/2022
  • Championship Championship
Play-Off Final
  • Sky Sports Ultra HD
  • Sky Sports Main Event
  • Sky Sports Football

Now, there are 2 Championship live televised matches and 3 TV channels will broadcast each and every one of them. The next match you will be able to enjoy is Nottingham Forest - Sheffield United and it will be played next 17 May 2022 at 20:45 televised by Sky Sports Ultra HD, Sky Sports Football.

The Championship is the second division of football in England. The tournament was played for the first time in 1892 under the name Football League Second Division. As in other competitions in the country, teams from Wales can also participate in it.

Despite being the second category of a country, it is one of the leagues with the greatest economic power and the most impact on the entire planet. In the 2018-19 season, the last before the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Championship had an average of 20,181 spectators in each game. Figures available to very few and that reflect the degree of loyalty of the English fan to the team in their city.

The league is made up of 24 teams that compete against each other for 46 rounds. In the event of a tie on points between two teams, the position of each is decided by the goal difference, the goals in favor and the particular goal average in that order. At the end of the tournament, the first two teams in the classification are promoted directly to the Premier League. The clubs that have been in third, fourth, fifth and sixth position dispute a Play-off for the third promotion. The last three go down to League One.

Barnsley is one of the most storied clubs in the Championship. They have the honor of being the first club to reach 3,000 matches and achieve 1,000 victories in this competition. On January 3, 2011 they reached a thousand wins, beating Coventry City 2-1 at their stadium (Oakwell).

In 2004, when the first edition was played as the Football League Championship, Sunderland was proclaimed champion after scoring 94 points in 46 games. Wigan Athletic, directly, and West Ham, through the play-off, accompanied the Black Cats to the Premier League. Gillingham, Nottingham Forest and Rotherham United were the three clubs that lost the category.

Reading made history in the 2005-06 season. The Royals managed to conquer the tournament with a stratospheric score of 106 points. They played 46 games and finished the league with 31 wins, 13 draws and just two losses. They were undefeated for 191 days. Kevin Doyle and Dave Kitson were the top scorers for that team led by Steve Coppell. To date, no club has scored more points in any of England's competitions since three are awarded for every win.